adam marshall – process part 328

ADAM MARSHALL

As I’m around a lot of loud music in clubs and studios, I find that I enjoy very ambient music when I have music on at home – especially when I’m doing other, non-musical creative work which requires focus. I especially like the kind of tracks that create an “ambiance”, and are not really songs as much as different tonal colours. However, I always find that I would prefer if these kinds of tracks, in particular, were mixed together – instead of a fade out and fade in between tracks on my iTunes, or – even worse – the realization that the cool little B-side ambient cut on an old techno record ended ended 20 minutes ago, and is nicely wearing down the needle on the run-out groove.

I took this opportunity to finally try and create an hour long mix of some of my favourite tracks that have no kick, no percussion and minimal structure – but are rich in bassy overtones and draped in warm delay.

Hopefully a fitting mood for driving along a darkened rural highway, late at night.



Mix includes works by the following artists:

Loscil
The Mole
Imugem Orihasam
Pangaea
Oneohtrixpointnever
Sigha
Asher
Ezekiel Honig
Matthewdavid
Loscil
Kyle Bobby Dunn
Matthewdavid
Demdike Stare
Forma
RetinalIT
Asher
The Caretaker
Pjusk
Bee Mask
No Ufo’s
Kyle Bobby Dunn
Surgeon
William Basinki
Sandwell District
Rene Hell
Dj Sprinkles
Pangaea
The Mole
Nils Frahm
Rene Hell
Demdike Stare
Martin Fuhs

Leave a Reply

